HomeHome SearchSearch MenuMenu Our productsOur products

Four types of OHSA's health and safety risk assessment you need to know about

by , 03 October 2016
Four types of OHSA's health and safety risk assessment you need to know aboutHaving a HIRA (hazard identification and risk assessment) process at your company is one of the most important tools at your disposal to ensure your company's compliant with the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA).Here are the four types of risk assessments you must do...

Most incidents in the workplace happen because of insufficient management controls. One way of ensuring your company identifies hazards and assesses safety risks is to do a complete and proper risk assessment of your workplace.
'Risk assessment refers to the process of evaluating risks to workers' safety and health from hazards at the workplace,' explains risk trainingsolutions.com. To ensure you're doing yours correctly, you need to follow the following steps as outlined by the Health and Safety Training Advisor.
Here're four types of risk assessments you must do in your workplace 
#1. Baseline risk assessment: This is the initial assessment of risk in a workplace. It is a broad assessment and includes all activities taking place on site. A baseline HIRA is done to establish a risk profile and is used to prioritise action programmes for issue-based risk assessments.
#2. Generic risk assessment
This risk assessment is used where the same type of task is carried out at different workplaces in the same way (e.g. risk assessments of a number of warehouses storing similar goods). To do a generic risk assessment, perform a baseline risk assessment and then use this for similar work activities that involve comparable risks.
#3. Continuous risk assessment
The continuous risk assessment is an informal risk assessment performed on an on-going basis in theworkplace. It's usually performed by a supervisor who'll observe employees performing their tasks as part of his daily responsibility. From this observation the risk related to the specific performance of the task is assessed and the supervisor will stop the employee from continuing the task should it present too high a risk.
#4. Specialised risk assessments
In the field of HIRAthere are several methods available for determining specific risks associated to each individual workplace. These models each have a specific application and are used to achieve specific objectives.
'Once you've decided on which risk assessment to perform, you'll also need to decide which model you'll employ. In the field of hazard identification and risk assessment there are several methods available for determining risk in the workplace,' explains www.healthandsafetyadvisor.co.za.

Find out more about the different risk assessment models in chapter R01 of your Health and Safety Advisor.

If you're not a subscriber yet then click here and we'll send you the Health and Safety Advisor with a 30-day money back guarantee. 


Do you have more than 20 employees?

Don't ignore this health and safety obligation or else
The DoL will slap you with a R50 000 fine or 1 year in jail if you don't have a health and safety representative.

Here's how to avoid it...

Vote article

Four types of OHSA's health and safety risk assessment you need to know about
Note: 4.22 of 9 votes

Related articles

Related articles

Related Products