HomeHome SearchSearch MenuMenu Our productsOur products

Four stages of health and safety training that will stop accidents in your workplace starting today

by , 27 January 2015
Workplace accidents can be a big problem that will cost your company a lot of money. After all, you can't carry on with work when you have to deal with an accident. It affects productivity which leads to lost profits.

Luckily, it's easy to put a stop to these accidents and it all starts with health and safety training.

Follow these four stages of health and safety training and you'll stop workplace accidents, starting today...

Stop accidents in your workplace by following these four stages of health and safety training

Stage 1: Health and safety induction training
When new employees join your company you need to give them safety induction training. This training makes sure they start their new jobs knowing how to work safely.
You must include the important procedures your employees need to know about in order to be safe. These should be the basics. After all, you don't want to completely overwhelm your new employees before they even get settled.
Here are ten of the basic points your health and safety induction training should include:
1.       Basic Safety policies and rules;
2.       Emergency procedures;
3.       Common job hazards;
4.       PPE;
5.       Reporting hazard;
6.       Which supervisor they can go to with questions and problems;
7.       Safety responsibilities;
8.       Further safety training;
9.       General health & safety information (e.g. when to get first aid); and
10.   Health and safety housekeeping rules.
For a complete induction training manual and questionnaire, check out Induction Training 101.
*********** Hot off the press  ************
Secret revealed! Cut your time spent on health and safety training in HALF!
I've got a way to HALVE the time you spend searching for documents, checking for the correct up-to-date policies and preparing training material for staff.
Click here to find out how…
Stage 2: Further health and safety training
Conduct further health and safety training programmes with your employees at least once a year. Include training on new procedures, equipment or just use it to refresh their memories.
This training should be more in depth and should go into specifics. To make sure this training is really specific, do a risk assessment before you put together the training content. This will help you identify any specific hazards and risks you need to training your employees on. (Not sure how to do this? Then check out the Risk Assessment Toolkit)
For example, training them to recognise the signs of gas poisoning if they work with gas regularly.
Stage 3: Toolbox talks
Toolbox talks are short refresher training sessions on specific topics. You can use them to remind your employees of procedures after an accident or if there's a change to health and safety rules.
You can find 107 toolbox talk topics in the Toolbox Talk Kit.
Stage 4: Specialised health and safety training
This is only for specific employee like your first aiders or fire team. This training must cover their specific duties and how they do them.
Here are seven types of specialised training you might need to give your employees:
1.       First aid;
2.       Fire fighting;
3.       Risk assessment training;
4.       Investigation training;
5.       Scaffolding construction;
6.       Transport safety training; and
7.       Electrical safety training.
This final stage will make sure the employees you appoint to health and safety positions know how to keep everyone safe.
These four stages of health and safety training will give all your employees the knowledge they need to stay safe and prevent accidents, starting from today.
You can also find out everything you need to know about health and safety training in Health and Safety Training Manual.

Vote article

Four stages of health and safety training that will stop accidents in your workplace starting today
Note: 5 of 1 vote

Related articles

Related articles

Related Products