HomeHome SearchSearch MenuMenu Our productsOur products

It's time to do a risk assessment. But do you know which type of assessment you must do?

by , 17 June 2015
As part of managing the health and safety of your business you must control the risks in your workplace.

To do this you need to think about what might cause harm to people and make sure you're taking proper steps to prevent that harm.

This is known as a risk assessment and legally, it's something you have to do.

But do you know which of the four types of risk assessments you need to do in line with your business? Keep reading to find out...

*********Reader's favourite*********

Here's how you can be 100% sure your risk assessments are legally compliant...

Everything you need to effectively manage risk in your business, avoid accidents in the workplace and be 100% compliant with the DoL is now available to you in this one resource.

Can you afford to not have it?

Find out more here.


Four types of risk assessments

1. Baseline assessment
This is the first assessment of risk in your workplace. It's a very broad assessment and includes all the activities taking place on site. An example would be an assessment of your ventilation system.

2. Generic assessment
Use this assessment where employees carry out the same type of task in the same way, but at different workplaces. For example, where a risk assessment must be done at a few warehouses that store the same goods.

It's important to remember that generic assessments are only valid for work activities that are similar. The level of risk that each represents must be identical. And so would the type of control measures.

Read on for another two types of risk assessments…

*********Highly recommended*********

Take this quick quiz to find out if you can handle the DoL hot seat

•    Which risk assessments have to be checked by an approved inspector every two years?
•    Is it absolutely necessary for your company to appoint and train someone as a risk assessor?
•    When was the last time you did a risk assessment? (Is that too long?)
•    Have you checked and double checked the less obvious health hazards?

If you can't answer even one of these questions you're not only putting your employee's lives at risk; you're also putting yourself in danger of massive fine from the DoL.

Don't wait until it's too late.

Learn how to do your risk assessments correctly here.


The final two types of risk assessments

3. Continuous assessment
This is an informal risk assessment that the Supervisor performs regularly. He observes employees performing their tasks as part of his daily responsibility. And he assesses the risk that relates to the specific performance of the task. The Supervisor will stop the employee from continuing the task if it's too much of a risk.

4. Specialised assessment
When it comes to identifying hazards, there are many methods available for determining the level of risk they cause. Each model has a specific purpose and used to achieve specific objectives. The specialised assessment is very specific to the task you need to grade in terms of the level of risk.

Important: You must apply the correct model in relation to the desired product.

For nine risk assessment models, get your copy of the Health and Safety Advisor today!

Vote article

It's time to do a risk assessment. But do you know which type of assessment you must do?
Note: 5 of 1 vote

Related articles

Related articles

Related Products